US State Department: Think Twice before Traveling to the Caribbean

Caribbean News…
08 August 2020 1:43am
crossed out plane

The U.S. State Department is effectively advising Americans to reconsider or halt their travel to most of the Caribbean, Travel Pulse reports.

The State Department issued on Thursday issued Level 4 “do not travel” advisories for several Caribbean countries, including the Dominican Republic, Belize and The Bahamas.

It also issued “Level 3” advisories for Americans to “reconsider” and “avoid non-essential travel” to more than a score of Caribbean nations due to COVID-19 risks.

Level 3 advisories were issued for Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire, Dominica, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Curacao, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sint Maarten, St. Lucia, The British Virgin Islands, The Cayman Islands, The Turks & Caicos, Trinidad and Tobago.

The Dominican Republic, which has the highest COVID-19 infection rate among Caribbean countries, is the largest of six Caribbean destinations to receive a Level 4 designation.

Belize, another growing Caribbean destination, and Cuba were also tagged with Level 4 destinations.

Level 4 status was also assigned to Haiti, Guyana and Honduras, each of which had significant pre-COVID tourism activity, albeit a fraction of the largest Caribbean destinations.

Back to top